BVE 2013 / The Toy Shop and I

BVE 2013 pass

This was my first time at the Broadcast Video Expo (BVE), so understandably I was quite excited. To be surrounded by and have access to kit and equipment I’ve only read about in blogs and magazines was like being a child in a toy shop.

As I entered the ExCel Centre and was greeted by BVE workers, this excitement kept bubbling up to the surface. However, initially I suppressed this excitement as I didn’t want to appear ‘too keen’.

BVE 2013 Entranceway

I’m still considered a “youngster” by many, but I already feel that at my age I need to carry myself in a certain way to be more ‘grown up’. Childish & spontaneous desires and reactions are slowly quashed by more conservative ways.

But at BVE I didn’t want to saunter around the event with an air of indifference, I wanted to grab someone’s arm and exclaim “how cool is that?!” when a working Dedo light was  submerged into a bucket of water & lifted out completely unaffected; I wanted to let my jaw drop when watching an ice sculptor craft a Canon 1DC out of a block of ice; I wanted to just let my excitement and joy take over.

Canon 1DC Ice Sculpture

As I made my way around the stalls with my friend Alex, he would pull me over to stalls with a grin and exclaim “I want that!”. He’d get hold of a camera and I’d lose him completely for 5 minutes, consumed with the product and its functionalities.

Lost him

Through watching him & being at the event itself, I started to allow my own feelings of curiosity and excitement express themselves.

I chatted to people on stalls, marveling at their products and enquiring about how they could work for me. I spoke to people about the film and video industries as a whole.

In my opinion, BVE is the perfect place to rekindle childlike curiosities & develop discussions.
I wanted to see everything, touch everything, play with everything, and at BVE I wasn’t just allowed to, I was encouraged to.

Furthermore, the BVE Twitter account was incredibly active interacting with fellow tweeters. But not only were they active, they were helpful and personable. They want you to feel like you can have fun at BVE.

Screen-Shot-2013-03-07-at-14.26.23

Screen-Shot-2013-03-07-at-14.21.19

Screen-Shot-2013-03-07-at-14.29.35

Screen-Shot-2013-03-07-at-14.34.02

As a society incorporating digital technology into our lives more and more, particularly in the digital hub of Brighton, we find ourselves interacting daily with websites and online interfaces. So the contrast of interacting face-to-face from someone on the CVP or Kata or Blackmagic stalls was immeasurable.  And it was this tangible experience which released the child in me that could skip all the way home with a grin on its face.

[This blog was originally published on Fat Sand Productions]

Leave a Reply

